The First JVP insurrection (1971)

The First JVP insurrection
(1971) Dominion of Ceylon Ceylon
Dominion of Ceylon United Front (since May 15)
CCP (Pro-Soviet)
Australia Australia
Egypt Egypt
India India
Pakistan Pakistan
Singapore Singapore
Soviet Union Soviet Union
United Kingdom United Kingdom
United States United States
Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia Yugoslavia
China China

Supported by:
North Korea (alleged)
Ba’athist Iraq ASBPI
South Asian Communist Banner.svg CCP (Maoist) (alleged)

Rebel forces surrender
Ceylonese government reestablishes control over entire island

Dharmendra Singh

Learn More →